The Mosque of Sultan Barsbay is located on the corner of Nahasiyeen and Muski streets in Khan El Khalili, Cairo, Egypt. It was built in 1425 by the Mamluk Sultan Al-Ashraf Sayf-ad-Din Barsbay who ruled from 1422 until 1438, and buried in the north cemetery of Cairo.
The mosque is a part of Sultan Barsbay complex which consists of a Mossoleum, Sabil Kuttab and madrassa and it was built in the first place for Sufis who wanted to learn the four rites of the Islamic Law.
The Mosque is a fascinating example of Mamluk hanging mosques, as it was built above street level, and consists of a square area with an open court (sahn) in the center, surrounded by four open fronted halls, the largest of it is the portico in the direction of prayer, which is consists of three aisles.
Because of space constraints the inner and outer walls of the mosque are of varying thickness to give the outer appearance of a straight edged square structure.
The Mosque has more than one name, such as Sultan al-Ashraf Barsbay mosque, Mosque, Madrasa, Khanqah of Ashraf Barsbay, Sabil-Kuttab and Mausoleum complex of Sultan al-Ashraf Barsbay, Funerary Complex of Sultan al Ashraf Barsbay at Suq al Nahasiyeen and Musk.